Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

My latest very inexpensive Amazon purchase!

2 Comments


Image via Tumblr

If you’re like me you have a love/hate relationship with your touchscreen device. Take my tablet. For starters, it’s a Lenovo so I’m not sure if the screen is quite as repsonsive as say, a Samsung or iPad. But it works, has 2 gb RAM, which is pretty good, and I love the android OS because it enables me to do more than with a factory iPad.

Right now I’m typing this on my tablet using a very old HP computer keyboard. One of those pre-USB keyboards with the funny round plug instead of a USB connector. Also the mouse is from the same computer, with the same kind of round plug.

So browsing thru Amazon I found two things I needed for this. First I got the USB/OTG cable (black in pic) which enables plugging in of hardware peripherals to a qualified android tab or phone. Then, after seeing that that worked with a newer USB keyboard and mouse, I got a PS/2 to USB adapter (white in pic) to hook up the older, non-USB hardware. Basically two adapters have made my tablet a laptop.

All very cheap. The tablet, the apapters and … well, not the author! 🙂

Author: Earthpages.ca

Earthpages.ca is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Write as many entries as you like. We're not afraid of new ideas!

2 thoughts on “My latest very inexpensive Amazon purchase!

  1. In the last year I’ve got a big collection of these specialty wires and adapters. My latest was a simple headphone adapter that connects my 8″ tablet to my surround sound system.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s funny how these small pleasures can be so satisfying. For me I like to read/write from different perspectives. So reading/writing from a tablet or computer makes a difference, keeps it fresh. Same with music. I listen to my tab or phone thru a 4-way stereo, and other rigged up sound systems. Each time, the new config keeps it fresh. I guess you and I just share this particular kind of hobby!

    Like

What are you thinking?

