Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Remote computing – New wine in old wine skins!

2 Comments


It’s a long weekend and most everyone is away, so I’ve been taking a little time familiarizing myself with Team Viewer.

This free and portable program has enabled me to press my favorite old laptop back into service. For someone who spends many hours at home, this is a real boon. I love my old laptop’s sturdy keyboard and large screen. Newer laptops just seem to be getting cheaper and cheaper, thinner and thinner. Pretty soon they’ll be making them out of tin foil!

Click on image for larger size

So what’s happening in this graphic? (made entirely by remote using my old laptop keyboard and monitor linked to newer computer upstairs)

Well it’s an interesting setup. The old laptop has only 512 MB RAM, but as you can see I’m listening to Spotify and it is only using 217 MB RAM and 30% CPU. That’s because the new computer is taking most of the load, doing the lion’s share of the work, using 1.8 GB RAM, 13% CPU.

The new computer’s CPU is showing a lower percentage (13%) because it’s a faster, more efficient chip. But again, it is doing most of the work.

Team Viewer simply sends data via WiFi from new to old (my favorite vintage laptop); the old displays/plays everything done by the new. And, of course, I can send data back (keyboard and mouse) to new from old. Otherwise, I couldn’t have done anything remotely at all.

That’s my non-technical way of understanding it! If I tried to listen to Spotify on the old laptop all by itself, it would probably work but stutter and pop. Also it would take eons to load. With this setup everything is fast because, again, the newer computer is doing most of the work.

Basically it’s almost as good as having two fast computers for the price of one!

Who says we shouldn’t put new wine in old wine skins? 🙂

Author: Earthpages.ca

Earthpages.ca is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Write as many entries as you like. We're not afraid of new ideas!

2 thoughts on “Remote computing – New wine in old wine skins!

  1. Interesting and will look into this when feeling a bit better. Enjoy the day and thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

What are you thinking?

