Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Taking the Hardware Plunge

1 Comment


Image via Amazon.ca

Image via Amazon.ca

I can’t believe I finally did it. I ordered some RAM for a very old laptop that was (trying to) run on 512 mb ram. Up till now I’ve only extracted stuff from busted computers and juggled it around, hoping it would work and not blow up! So far I’ve been pretty lucky.

But last night I researched and scanned my old laptop system info with the free CPU-Z portable app, which I love. And I read and read and read. I also extracted the RAM and wrote down a whole bunch of numbers. Noted the slots. All that stuff.

Just hoping now I got it right. If this works, I got an amazing Hong Kong deal.

Will keep you posted. Low, low price means longer than usual delivery times.

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

One thought on “Taking the Hardware Plunge

  1. Crucial can tell you everything you need. Install the scanner http://www.crucial.com/ and see what it comes up with. They’re very reasonably priced for as high quality as they are. I have 3 crucial ssd’s and a flash memory card. I’m pretty sure they can cover older hardware but thats getting more expensive than new cutting edge products

    Like

What are you thinking?

