Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

My ‘Frankenstein’ Computer

Leave a comment


Frankenstein: Through the Eyes of the Monster

Frankenstein: Through the Eyes of the Monster (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Some of you may know that I like messing around with old computers, trying to squeeze every overpaid penny out of them that I can.

In Canada we pay more than in the US because of our devalued dollar. But there are also more taxes. And on top of this, an amorphous “environmental handling fee,” which to me looks questionable (I’m skeptical that tax dollars and ‘fees’ always go where they are supposed to go, but that’s another issue).

Some years ago I paid almost a thousand dollars for an Athlon processor computer. Because it is an older Athlon it cannot run Chrome extensions, no matter how much RAM I inject. And I like extensions.

The other day this old computer died. There was a brief blackout and when the power returned the computer wouldn’t light up. The fact that I wasn’t using a surge/spike protector probably didn’t help.

Luckily I had another old computer lying around in the basement. It was not completely dead but in a deep coma—that is, inoperable.

Because I know next to nothing about hardware, I was apprehensive about trying to mix and match the two into one working machine. But since I really had nothing to lose, yesterday I spent the better part of the day doing just that.

It all went fairly smoothly, figuring stuff out by trial and error. And I now have one working desktop that is better than each of the two previous!

Because this hybrid was born just before Halloween, I think I’ll call it my ‘Frankenstein Computer.’ 🙂

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

What are you thinking?

