Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Tips and tricks – U S B expansion

Leave a comment


Most of you have probably heard of a USB hub. That refers to a small device that plugs into one of your USB ports and gives you 3 or more ports. I’m no expert on this stuff, but I think the juice might be diminished with each new plug-in. So if you’re transferring lots of data or, as in my case, trying to minimize lag (called latency) on your musical keyboard, chances are its best not to use a USB hub for that kind of activity.

My laptop has four USB ports. But I would really like five. So after thinking about it, I realized that I could use a hub on stuff that wasn’t so critical. Like the mouse and USB keyboard. They both work fine thru the hub, and are low drain (my non-technical language) so you don’t notice any difference in performance.

The hub I use cost about two or three dollars at the dollar store. A quick solution to wanting more USB ports!

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

What are you thinking?

