Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Repair time

2 Comments


I’ve got a really old computer on the dining room table. Earthpages is sort of on hold as I’m becoming a bit obsessed with restoring this PC just the way I want. I used to get nervous doing this when I only owned one computer. But with several kicking around the house, it’s just fun. Probably the same kind of pleasure vintage auto enthusiasts get out of restoring old cars, getting finicky motors to run smoothly, etc.

Restoring an old computer

A post shared by @mc2go on

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

2 thoughts on “Repair time

  1. I work at a retirement home and a lady had a really old compaq. The speakers hung off the sides of the monitor, it had an 8gb hard drive something like 17mbs of ram and a ton of dust inside. I cleaned it all out and started it up. The boot screen said Windows 98 and it loaded to the desktop and stopped. There were a million icons everywhere. She said she didnt need anything on it and I did see “press f__ to factory restore” or “hard reset” I think it was. It restored and she was happy but really couldnt do anything with it. She told me this little white piece of junk cost over $1,000 when they bought it around 1998.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s amazing how much computers used to cost. Not that they are too inexpensive today. In Canada I feel we get a bit ripped off. The price we pay is usually more than the difference in exchange rate. Even when our currencies were equal, there was still a price difference (big box stores and online).

      A clean instal does wonders for startup time. You probably gave the lady back some fond memories, which are priceless. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What are you thinking?

