Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Rediscovering John Prine

Leave a comment


Back in the library today. Happened to see this oldie goldie that I haven’t heard for ages. Wasn’t really knowing what to expect. Last time I heard this album it was on vinyl and I was just a young boy (I had older brothers and sisters so got a good musical education as a child).

So putting the CD in, I was entranced at how much I liked it. I mean, I REALLY liked it. Lyrics like “there’s a hole in Daddy’s arm… where all the money goes… Jesus Christ died for nothing, I suppose” and another about people making love “10 miles apart” didn’t make much sense to me as a young boy. But today I realized that Prine is a classic.

In the song posted below – “Your Flag Decal Won’t Get You Into Heaven Any More” – you can hear a definite Hank Williams Sr. influence in the word “heaven.” Hardly surprising. Maybe Prine was channeling Hank at that moment. I wouldn’t be surprised. I think Hank Williams would have really liked Prine. And since Hank Williams is my very most favorite artist out of all of them, that’s a big compliment coming from me.

Another thing I like about this album is that it’s not overly produced. The musicians are slick but not showoffs, throwing every country lick they know in your face. Nope. This is just good old-fashioned  folk-country with a dash of rock.

The entire lp is on YouTube.

Author: Earthpages.org

Earthpages.org is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Make a difference. Submit your article today!

What are you thinking?

