Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Easter morning

Leave a comment


Image via Tumblr

Was up early this morning with the sun streaming through our back window.

The philosophy book features prominently in this shot because I just picked it up last night at the secondhand bookstore. After passing it by once, I went home and saw that it was selling on the internet for way more than $1.99. So I drove back to the store and grabbed it. Turned out I already had a copy buried in the basement. That happens sometimes when you haven’t indexed your library! But I don’t care. This copy has nicer print. And it was a steal at that price.

The other book, with the library tag, is a critique of the religious studies scholar Bart Ehrman, who looks at the historical Jesus without really giving any credence to the idea that Jesus is the son of God. This book is interesting. It’s like a team a smart Christian guys got together and said, “okay, how are we going to trash Ehrman!” And they do a pretty good job. Still, I like Ehrman. He’s provocative and a great speaker. I suppose I’m comfortable enough in my belief/experience/reflection that intelligent critique doesn’t throw me. But clearly Ehrman has really annoyed these Christian guys.

Carl Jung would have had a field day with all this. Ehrman being the shadow and the Christian guys being the forceful defendants reacting to the shadow’s provocations. At least, I imagine that’s how Jung might have seen it.

Anyhow, I believe that Jesus is incredibly special. And I have reason to believe. But that’s about all I can really say. If ideas like the “Trinity” were revealed to me in a way that was beyond a shadow of a doubt, I’d talk about that too.

Happy Easter everyone!

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

What are you thinking?

