Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Shooting Stars – An international kinda Christmas

Leave a comment


Maybe living in Toronto, one of the most multicultural places on Earth, did it. Or maybe it had something to do with my living in India for a couple of years. Or maybe it was my interest in world cultures. I really don’t know. But I was playing around with some exotic scales and it turned into a kind of international Seasons Greetings.

I learned some new techniques here. Most notably, “ducking”—not only the bass by the kick drum, but also the synthesizer pad by the sleigh bell. If you’re not into music production, chances are you won’t know what the heck I’m talking about. No worries. Music is mostly meant to be listened to. Not analyzed.

My gut tells me this one will, like most of my others, miss the radar. But with these techniques now under my belt, I’m still hoping for that big hit (someday). That may seem far fetched but if you listen to the earliest recordings of most bands, including biggies like Supertramp and The Beatles, they went thru a “not so great” phase where they were still refining their style and polishing up their technique. That gives me great comfort, knowing that “Fool’s Overture” or “Hey Jude” didn’t pop right out of the box.

Anyhow… enuf talk.

Season’s Greetings! 🙂

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

What are you thinking?

