Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Jupiter 7

2 Comments


jupiter-7

This is a new song I’m working on. Having a lot of fun with it. It’s actually based on a tune I wrote when I was just a kid. We had this broken down piano in the basement. Some of the keys didn’t work. Especially the higher ones. It was slightly out of tune. But I loved it anyhow. A Heintzman upright grand. I was sorry when my parents moved to a smaller house (where I now live) cos there was no room for the ol’ piano here.

Theodor August Heintzman, founder of Heintzman & Co. via Wikipedia

Theodor August Heintzman, founder of Heintzman & Co. via Wikipedia

But God pays us back, if we’re patient. I now have enuf electronic gear to simulate almost any sound I want, including an old piano!

I don’t want this to be a spoiler for the tune, but I’m sort of expanding the very basic melody/chord progression (I was about 12 yrs when I wrote it) into a sci-fi epic. This isn’t out of character cos I was really into sci-fi as a kid. It’s just a progression. Adulthood looking back at itself as a child. Seeing a kind of connection, maybe a circularity, who knows…

Sorry there’s no sound sample yet. It’s still too raw… But I should be done in a week or so.

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

2 thoughts on “Jupiter 7

  1. Sci-fi epic. I like the sound the sound of that! Looks mind-bogglingly complex.

    Like

  2. It can be. Funny thing is, this mix is coming out much clearer cos I’m purposely trying to keep it simple. Always tempting to add more beeps and buzzes. Or another synth pad… 🙂

    Like

What are you thinking?

