Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

will i ever get that mix right..?

1 Comment


another late nite in the studio… via Tumblr – click for fullsize

I finally shelled out and got a 24″ monitor. I waited so long that, by the time I actually upgraded, I got an insanely good deal. That’s how things usually go with me. It took a while to adjust but it certainly is easier on the eyes. And when it comes to music production, I can see more stuff at one time without having to scroll around, which can be a PITA.

Getting new goodies, however, doth not make one a better musician or arranger! It only helps with what you already got. Well, maybe that’s not entirely true. Because better equipment can inspire, which can then facilitate development.

But anyhow, I’m still trying to get my latest jingle mixed right. I suppose as I learn more, I become more finicky. And that’s probably a good thing, provided I keep a perspective on things.

This shot was taken last night around 1 a.m. The bedroom studio. In left screen, center, you can see that I’ve just “rendered” the tune to a wav file. Rendering just means converting all those tracks into a L/R stereo signal. After that, one usually “masters” the sound. That’s an art and a science in itself. Again… I’m just learning. It’s fun. Absorbing. I don’t know if I’ll ever be that great at it. But I certainly will try.

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

One thought on “will i ever get that mix right..?

  1. Congrats on the new equipment. May it up the mojo to the enth degree!

    Like

What are you thinking?

