Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

#tortoiseandthehare

Leave a comment


Free twitter badge

Free twitter badge (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Dictated with https://dictation.io/

I can be incredibly fast or incredibly slow. When it comes to Twitter, I must admit I have been incredibly slow. It’s not that I don’t like Twitter. I do. I actually signed up for Twitter way before it was popular. Thank God I heard about it through WordPress. Otherwise, I think some other site might have got that Twitter name before I did. (Ha ha, beat ‘em to it!).

Basically, I have been using Twitter to promote material posted at Earthpages. Also, a little bit of material at my own site, michaelwclark.com (what you are looking at right now). But I haven’t been using Twitter as a research tool. I don’t really know why. When the idea of the hashtag first appeared, for some reason it seemed too complicated, too mechanical, too clunky. That you had to enter in this hashtag to highlight material… I guess I just wanted something easy to click on.

So for many years I tweeted material published at Earthpages. But I never really explored Twitter for new material.

The Tortoise and the Hare - Project Gutenberg ...

The Tortoise and the Hare – Project Gutenberg etext 19993 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today, all that changed.

I did a simple web search, “what does Twitter hashtag mean?” When I read the answer, I guess I already knew, but I had never actually used a hashtag and didn’t know how easy it is to search topics within Twitter.

Yes, you may find this amazing, considering I’ve been the administrator of Earthpages for many years now and yet I never learned how to fully use Twitter!

Anyhow, my first search used #paranormal and my second attempt used #parapsychology. I received two excellent results. Both are posted at Earthpages.org.

Needless to say, I am delighted. I’ve always wanted earthpages to be fresh and up-to-date… a happening center for all things progressive, alternative and forward-moving.

So you can expect a lot more activity at Earthpages.org from now on. I can also integrate tweets into Earthpages.ca, so the future is looking bright, indeed!

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

What are you thinking?

