Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Brian Williams – a live commentary…

3 Comments


English: Brian Williams at the 2011 Time 100 gala.

Brian Williams at the 2011 Time 100 gala. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(Transcript, with a few edits, from dictation with the Dragon app)

Well, I was just going to talk about Brian Williams and how we should give him the benefit of the doubt. I am so happy that I can talk into the iPad and espouse my views on various topics.

Over the years I’ve been watching the news and many times just wanted to quickly comment to give my opinion on current stories. But it just was too much hassle to turn on the computer and type away and find an appropriate image etc. So now I can just talk and things should be much faster. However I must say I was talking into Dragon software, blabbing away, and when I finished I realized the iPad was not connected to the Internet.

This happens every now and then because with our cable company we have to turn the modem off every few days to reset it or something. I don’t really understand the technology behind it but every now and then I have to go downstairs to the basement, turn the modem off for 10 seconds, and then turn it back on and wait about another 10 seconds… and the Internet connection is restored.

Anyhow so I was talking about Brian Williams and how we should give him the benefit of the doubt and I made all my points but I wasn’t connected to the Internet, therefore Dragon software was not working. So I did a really good entry but it’s gone… it didn’t happen. Therefore I decided I would try talking into a tape recorder app which is also really cool. Then I will play this recording into Dragon and see if Dragon can still turn the recorded speech into text. I don’t know if it will be able to do that as well. But I’m going to give it a try.

My old laptop that I sparked up to play my voice recording into Dragon. It’s old but has good sound. And it worked!

But before I close I just want to finish with what I was going to say about Brian Williams. I personally think we should give him the benefit of the doubt. Why? Because he’s already an established figure in the news media. He didn’t need to embellish his story to get a reputation. He didn’t need to take that kind of a risk. I personally think it is possible that he was traumatized by being there and the whole thing just sort of freaked him out and when he finally got his wits back he’d confused a whole bunch of things. That might sound far-fetched and it might not even be true. But until we know for sure, otherwise, I think we should give him the benefit of the doubt. That’s it for now thanks for reading…

Sent from my iPad

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

3 thoughts on “Brian Williams – a live commentary…

  1. The diversity of of topics addressed and imparted friends are an excellent way communication, self knowledge. Good luck.

    Diversitatea temelor abordate și împărtățite prietenilor sunt un excelent mod de comunicare, de cunoaștere de sine. Succes.

    Michael Clark – Impressive the presentation. Congratulations.

    Like

What are you thinking?

