Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Save the last Mass for me

Leave a comment


Image via Tumblr

Here I am at St. Michael’s Cathedral yesterday. It’s the last daily Mass of 2013. I like ordinary (sometimes called “mid-week”) masses because, as you can see, it’s not so crowded and there’s more room to breathe… They’re also shorter. The Sunday Mass can be nice. But generally, I prefer mid-week masses. They’re sweet and contemplative.

Anyhow, here’s another old-style cellphone shot. The pic quality is substandard, of course, but I like this old cell phone for a lot of reasons. It’s so tiny that nobody hardly realizes I’m taking a picture. The screen is about an inch wide, if that. This makes composing a bit of a challenge. But it’s good for quick, discrete shots. And church is one place where you don’t want to stand out.

What stuck me visually here was the extensive metal scaffolding (maybe a bit more clear in the original). The old cathedral is being renovated, I think primarily for safety reasons. And the masses just keep going, amid the construction, which is sort of cool. One night I was there and all the back pews had been temporarily pulled. So there was this big open square where people just stood. I like that. I like breaks from the old routine.

Happy New Year, Everyone!

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

What are you thinking?

