Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Chillin’ takes on whole new meaning…

4 Comments


20131223-131031.jpg

For me in Toronto, anyhow. Ice storm has rendered us without power for 39 hrs. Luckily this library is open. I saw its lights on, shining like a beacon of hope and normalcy after winding my way through fallen branches and closed roads to get here.

Spending lots of time by candlelight and my battery powered radio. Other than that, it’s like “no tomorrow”on my street.

But it’s not that bad. Family member has power so a warm home is waiting if I really need it. Makes you think about the street people who don’t have that kind of backup…

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

4 thoughts on “Chillin’ takes on whole new meaning…

  1. Nothing like a good book to keep you warm in heart and mind. Reminds me of why I am hesitant to put all my intellectual stock into online material it is only as stable as the power source. I keep my most important books in hard copy. As Rhode Island Red says: “I keep my feathers numbered for just such an occasion.”

    Like

  2. Yes, I don’t know what I’d do if I had to get rid of or thin down my library. I hope that never happens. My personal library, I mean. Although I must admit, it was too cold in the house to even enjoy that. It really was a survival game, even tho’ I had a backup, I had to stay here to keep pipes from freezing, etc. I wore a down face mask at night that my dad used to use on the ski-doo!

    So when I was in the library first thing I did was check online as to what CDs I had to return that day, and then post a few messages so readers would know what was up with Earthpages. In a word, I went electric as soon as I could. It was nice to see darkened streets and do the memory lane thing (i.e. back into olden times). But I realized that my world is here and now. 2014… 🙂

    Like

    • I’d love some time to put the feet up with a good book! What a blessing that would be. With two young kids, there’s precious little time for a read. On the upside; when I do get those rare moments for a read, it’s quite sublime. Two things I miss most as a parent: sleep and losing my self in a great piece of literary art!

      Like

  3. Yes me too, and I don’t even have kids! One thing I like to do is watch movies on the tablet. Sort of a modern-day update to the old activity, and way less taxing and time consuming…

    Like

What are you thinking?

