Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

New tune in the works…

Leave a comment


I’m having a lot of fun working on a new tune, but it’s coming fairly slow. The past few weeks I’ve been taking some drives and walks with my mp3 player to relax. I love listening to music while I’m in motion. Anyhow, Daft Punk’s “Around the World” sorta grew on me after a few listens. At first I didn’t really like it but, as I say, it got under my skin a little bit. The happy robotic voice. The echos of Kraftwerk, a band I’ve always liked.

So my tune is going to be called “Together Forever.” And it’s definitely influenced by “Around the World” but actually coming out quite different. Part of the reason is that I’m just learning all this stuff, and the other is that I’m not trying to copy Daft Punk. But I do like how they’ve used one simple phrase to carry an entire track.

To me, their robot sounds almost German (they’re French). Mine is more Russian sounding (I’m Canadian). Who can figure?

It’ll probably be a while before I get the tune posted on SoundCloud. But I just thought I’d let y’all know that I haven’t fallen into the Abyss!

Cheers!

🙂

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

What are you thinking?

