Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

A walk on Christmas eve

Leave a comment


christmas-tree-1a.jpgAfter a day of driving through the downtown maze, lifting myself above it all with choral music trickling though the car speakers, my back muscles were tense and my belly bloated from eating far too many chocolates and eggnog ice cream cones.

So the first chance I got I went for a good, long walk.

It was around 6 p.m. and I could see and hear a Christmas visitor as he put on his festive face at the door of relatives or perhaps friends.

I like this walk on the outside, when the town is quieter and the police are cruising the streets on the lookout for wobbly drivers. There’s a funny ‘endtimes’ feeling at such moments, as if I’m the last man on Earth reviewing the folly of untold centuries.

Fair is foul, and foul is fair:
Hover through the fog and filthy air.

While coming home I walked behind an idling vehicle and got a lungful of filthy air. I suddenly thought of the environment and mused, Yes, the ‘greenniks’ are right. The world is in peril.

But then I thought, What if humanity were threatened by an asteroid? If we hadn’t developed our technology as it currently stands, we’d be wiped out for sure. At least we’d have a chance nowadays as we could blast an asteroid into oblivion.

The moral of this story?

Shakespeare might have been right in ways he could barely have imagined…

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

What are you thinking?

