Michaelwclark.com

Just my stuff

Trees

Leave a comment


I was at another blog earlier and came across an interesting post about trees. It reminded me of the old Joyce Kilmer poem.

Trees

I THINK that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.
  
A tree whose hungry mouth is prest  
Against the sweet earth’s flowing breast;  
  
A tree that looks at God all day,          
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;  
  
A tree that may in summer wear  
A nest of robins in her hair;  
  
Upon whose bosom snow has lain;  
Who intimately lives with rain.  
  
Poems are made by fools like me,  
But only God can make a tree.

Joyce Kilmer {1886-1918}

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

What are you thinking?

